INSULATION

The wool has a great affinity for water but the two parts of the cortex (ortho and para) have different affinities which makes them spiral around each other, creating the crimp of the fiber. The crimp encloses a large amount of air which increases the thermal protection by limiting the conduction. Scales also act by limiting air exchange by curbing their movement.

ABSORPTION

The amino acids of keratin easily fix water molecules (adsorption mechanism). In addition, wool is very hydrophobic with regard to water vapor, but has a hydrophobic reaction to liquid water. By a physicochemical phenomenon, the absorption of moisture by the fiber is accompanied by heat production and conversely the loss moisture is accompanied by heat absorption. Wool is bad conductor of heat.

RESISTANCE & FLEXIBILITY

The macromolecular structure of wool has great resistance to the twist therefore to the deformation. It has good elasticity, in case lengthening to an external force, it returns to its original state when the effect of force ceases (up to 30% elongation). If the force increases, the deformation can become permanent then it is the breaking point. These Steps are different depending on the temperature and humidity condition.

REGULATES HUMIDITY

Being a natural fiber, it has a versatile ability to absorb & release moisture and to breathe. It can absorb up to 35% of its own weight without feeling damp. It controls the humidity levels within a room and keep the air temperature more constant.

0

Start typing and press Enter to search

ISOLANT

La laine a une grande affinité pour l’eau mais les deux parties du cortex (ortho et para) ont des affinités différentes ce qui fait qu’elles s’enroulent en spirale l’une autour de l’autre, créant la frisure de la fibre. La frisure enferme une grande quantité d’air ce qui augmente la protection thermique en limitant la conduction. Les écailles agissent également en limitant les échanges d’air en freinant leur déplacement.

ABSORPTION

Les acides aminés de la kératine fixent facilement les molécules d’eau (mécanisme d’adsorption). De plus la laine est très hydrophile vis-à-vis de la vapeur de l’eau, mais a une réaction hydrophobe vis-à-vis de l’eau liquide. Par un phénomène physico-chimique, l’absorption d’humidité par la fibre s’accompagne d’une production de chaleur et inversement la perte  d’humidité est accompagnée d’une absorption de chaleur. La laine est mauvaise conductrice de la chaleur.

Résistance et flexibilité

La structure macromoléculaire de la laine présente une grande résistance à la torsion donc à la déformation. Elle a une bonne élasticité, en cas d’allongement du à une force extérieure, elle revient à son état initial lorsque l’effet de la force cesse (jusqu’à 30% d’allongement). Si la force augmente, la déformation peut devenir permanente puis c’est le point de rupture. Ces étapes sont différentes selon les conditions de température et d’humidité.

RÈGLE L’HUMIDITÉ

En tant que fibre naturelle, il possède une capacité polyvalente pour absorber et relâcher l’humidité, ainsi que pour respirer. Il peut absorber jusqu’à 35% de son propre poids sans se sentir humide. Il contrôle les niveaux d’humidité dans une pièce et maintient la température de l’air plus constante.

0

Start typing and press Enter to search